BEAUTY & NATURE · LIFESTYLE

Reblog: Bridging

GREAT CITIES

By : aphotogenicworld
Preserving moments of magic and beauty.

image

I was in London on the evening of the recent
Brussels bombings; a city that has suffered its
own bloodshed at the hands of terrorists.

READ MORE: TRAINING! TRAINING!! TRAINING!!! HANDING HANDS H2i: TIMETABLE FOR THURSDAY’S TRAINING!!!

image

My hotel for the evening was just a stone’s throw
from the Tower of London which only recently
rose from out of a sea of blood-red poppies
commemorating the dead of another conflict
100 years ago. It seems we never learn.

READ ALSO: Amazing Shot!!! check out this new wedding photo

Across the Atlantic Donald Trump gathers
momentum. If he becomes the next POTUS we
can be sure of more conflict ahead – the guy
can even pick a fight with the Pope!

image

But I digress.

The other landmark in this part of town is of
course Tower Bridge, and given the day’s
events I’d expected it to be illuminated in the
black, gold and red of the Belgian tricolour.

READ NOW: Meet the Blogging Master/Trainer today.
For WEBSITE DESIGN & HOW TO OPEN A BLOG

image

That might have given me something a unique
image of one of the most photographed
structures but it was not to be. I mused at the
time about the forthcoming vote on remaining
within the European Union and whether there
was any political motivation behind the lack of
obvious solidarity but apparently Trafalgar
Square was standing in that night.
So back to my problem – shooting a landmark
without producing a clichéd result.

image

I’ve seen some interesting shots making use of
long exposure to incorporate light streams from
traffic crossing the bridge, but interesting as the
results are, the bridge is no longer identifiable.
(With hindsight I could have walked beyond the
first small tower to reveal the taller structure
beyond, but I’d have been unable to find a
vantage point in the centre of the road.)
Lots of people shoot from the riverside to
incorporate a small fountain featuring a girl and
a dolphin – for me though the subjects are
better separated, and I didn’t find the fountain
interesting enough to warrant its own
photograph.

Read Now: Naijafrosh Music: My Anti-depressant

So now the remaining question was which side
of the bridge to shoot from. No contest – how
could I resist the city lights. Which brings me
back to the topic I began with.

READ ALSO: Amazing Shot!!! check out this new wedding photo

Perhaps there is no need for colours; a bridge
is symbolic enough. At least to a religious
leader whose title Pontifex means “bridge
builder”.

2 thoughts on “Reblog: Bridging

Leave a Reply

